TIR 360 TIR Digital Magazine

TIR on Twitter
Club Travel


Date published 14.08.2017

QATAR will grant multi-entry visa waivers on arrival to citizens of 80 countries, including South Africa. The move comes after several Middle Eastern states cut ties with Qatar in June, following allegations the Gulf state was providing finance and support to terrorist groups.

Surrounding land and sea borders were closed, with Maldives, Yemen, Libya, Bahrain, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates all involved in the standoff.

South Africans will now be able to spend up to 30 days in Qatar under the new rules. Travellers may apply to extend for a further 30 days.

<< Back to current enews | << Back to archive

Read the full editions of TIR
© Copyright 2018, TIR Southern Africa and Galileo Southern Africa, All rights reserved.